You are currently viewing Where Is The ICJ (International Court Of Justice) Located?

Where Is The ICJ (International Court Of Justice) Located?

The seat of the Court is at the Peace Palace in The Hague (Netherlands). Of the six principal organs of the United Nations, it is the only one not located in New York (United States of America).

The Court’s role is to settle, in accordance with international law, legal disputes submitted to it by States and to give advisory opinions on legal questions referred to it by authorized United Nations organs and specialized agencies. The Court decides disputes between countries, based on the voluntary participation of the States concerned. If a State agrees to participate in a proceeding, it is obligated to comply with the Court’s decision.

The International Court of Justice is composed of 15 judges elected to nine-year terms of office by the United Nations General Assembly and the Security Council. The Court may not include more than one national of the same State.  Moreover, the Court as a whole must represent the main forms of civilization and the principal legal systems of the world. These organs vote simultaneously but separately.  In order to be elected, a candidate must receive an absolute majority of the votes in both bodies.  This sometimes makes it necessary for a number of rounds of voting to be carried out. In order to ensure a measure of continuity, one third of the Court is elected every three years.  Judges are eligible for re-election.  Should a judge die or resign during his or her term of office, a special election is held as soon as possible to choose a judge to fill the unexpired part of the term.

International Court of Justice (ICJ), French Cour internationale de Justice, byname World Court, the principal judicial organ of the United Nations (UN). The idea for the creation of an international court to arbitrate international disputes first arose during the various conferences that produced the Hague Conventions in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The body subsequently established, the Permanent Court of Arbitration, was the precursor of the Permanent Court of International Justice (PCIJ), which was established by the League of Nations. From 1921 to 1939 the PCIJ issued more than 30 decisions and delivered nearly as many advisory opinions, though none were related to the issues that threatened to engulf Europe in a second world war in 20 years. The ICJ was established in 1945 by the San Francisco Conference, which also created the UN. All members of the UN are parties to the statute of the ICJ, and nonmembers may also become parties. The court’s inaugural sitting was in 1946.

The ICJ is a continuing and autonomous body that is permanently in session. It consists of 15 judges—no two of whom may be nationals of the same state—who are elected to nine-year terms by majority votes in the UN General Assembly and the Security Council. The judges, one-third of whom are elected every three years, are eligible for reelection. The judges elect their own president and vice president, each of whom serves a three-year term, and can appoint administrative personnel as necessary.

READ MORE ON THIS TOPICUnited Nations: International Court of JusticeThe International Court of Justice, commonly known as the World Court, is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations,…

The seat of the ICJ is at The Hague, but sessions may be held elsewhere when the court considers it desirable to do so. The official languages of the court are French and English.

The International Court of Justice (ICJ), also known as the World Court, is the highest judicial organ of the United Nations. It was established in 1945 to succeed the Permanent Court of International Justice upon the establishment of the United Nations. The principal function of the ICJ is to settle international disputes among countries and advise the United Nations on legal issues. All member states of the United Nations are signatories of the ICJ statute. The Security Council and General Assembly elect the 15-judge panel to serve a nine-year term. The World Court is located at the Peace Palace in The Hague, Netherlands. It is the only principal United Nations organ not based in New York City.

Peace Palace

The Peace Palace is an administrative building at The Hague City. It hosts the International Court of Justice, the Permanent Court of Arbitration, the Peace Palace Library, and The Hague Academy of International Law. The building was constructed at the cost of US1.5 million and was opened in August 1913 to host the newly established Permanent Court of Arbitration. In 2014, the palace was named among the heritage buildings of Europe. Soon after it was established, the PCIJ moved into the building, and its successor, the ICJ maintained the premises as its headquarters.

The Hague

The Hague is the capital of South Holland and the third-largest city in the country after Amsterdam and Rotterdam. It is among the most important cities not only in the Netherlands but also in the world. It hosts the Cabinet of the Netherlands, the Council of State, the Supreme Court, the States-General, the International Court of Arbitration, the International Court of Justice, the International Criminal Court, the Europol, and more than 200 international organizations. The King of Netherlands works at Noordeinde Palace and resides in Huis ten Bosch, both of which are located at The Hague. The city is also home to several multinational headquarters, including Royal Dutch Shell and many foreign embassies.

Judges Of The Court

The ICJ is made up of 15 judges elected by the Security Council and the General Assembly. Each judge serves a nine-year term. Both organs vote separately, but simultaneously and a candidate must receive a majority vote in both. One-third of the panel is elected every three years to ensure the continuity of the court. A special election is held should a judge resign or die in office. Although the court is based at The Hague, elections are held in New York City.


Leave a Reply